SPECIAL TOWN MEETING

OCTOBER 24, 2006

The meeting was called to order in the Bromfield School gym at 7:10 p.m. by Moderator, David Westerling. The call of the meeting and the return of service were found to be in order by Town Clerk Janet A. Vellante.

ARTICLE 1: ONGOING OPERATION AND ADMINISTRATION OF THE DEVENS REGIONAL ENTERPRISE ZONE

To see if the Town will vote to approve the submission to the Commonwealth of the Joint Study and Report on the permanent government structure for the ongoing operation and administration of the Devens Regional Enterprise Zone recommending "Scenario 2B," including proposed legislation which, if enacted, would (1) create a new Town of Devens, (2) return jurisdiction over portions of the Devens Regional Enterprise Zone to the Towns of Ayer, Harvard and Shirley, (3) modify the composition of the Devens Enterprise Commission, and (4) put revised versions of the Devens Zoning Bylaw and Reuse Plan into effect. (Inserted by Board of Selectmen)

On a motion by Randy Dean, 48 Madigan Lane, Board of Selectmen and seconded,

Voted 335 yes, 531 no [does NOT pass], that the Town approve the submission to the Commonwealth of the Joint Study and Report on the permanent government structure for the ongoing operation and administration of the Devens Regional Enterprise Zone recommending "Scenario 2B," including proposed legislation which, if enacted, would (1) create a new Town of Devens, (2) return jurisdiction over portions of the Devens Regional Enterprise Zone to the Towns of Ayer, Harvard and Shirley, (3) modify the composition of the Devens Enterprise Commission, and (4) put revised versions of the Devens Zoning Bylaw and Reuse Plan into effect.

Prior to discussion of the motion, the Moderator made the following motion:

- . Two hours of discussion will be anticipated
- . Discussion will be limited to five (5) minutes per person.
- . The motion will be discussed in its entirety, not in sections

The motion was seconded and approved.

Bill Marinelli, 50 Stow Road, gave the Board of Selectmen's report. [The Board supported this article 3 to 2.] Bob Eubank, 16 Old Schoolhouse Road, presented a minority report of the Selectmen.

On a motion by Moderator David Westerling, and seconded,

Voted unanimously yes that the town allow the following non-voters to speak to the meeting if

necessary:

Edward Denmark Police Chief

Thomas Jefferson Superintendent of Schools

Mark Lanza Town Counsel
Lorraine Leonard Finance Director
Robert Mignard Fire Chief

Richard Montouri MassDevelopment's Executive Vice-President Devens

Richard Nota Director of the DPW

Jared Wollaston citizen

George McKenna, 41 Old Littleton Road, Finance Committee, made a presentation in favor of the article. [The Board supported this article 5 to 2.] Marie Sobalvarro, 1 St. John Lane, presented a minority report of the Finance Committee.

Mary Essary, 239 Stow Road, and Kara Minar, 204 Still River Road, both of the Planning Board, presented that board's reports. The Planning Board opposed this article unanimously.

Joe Theriault, 23 Tahanto Trail, Board of Assessors, presented a report by the Assessors.

At 9:00 p.m., Chris Ashley, 21 Woodside Road, made a motion to move the question. It was seconded and voted greater than 2/3rds yes.

The Moderator acknowledged out-going Town Administrator Paul Cohen.

The meeting was dissolved at 9:30 p.m.

Checkers for the meeting were Nancy Cronin, Lisa Dagdigian, Marie Finnegan, Mary Kimball, Fran Maiore, George Schaffer, and Janet Wilhelm. They checked in 882 voters out of a total of 3934 registered voters (3695 active voters). This was a new Town Meeting record.

Tellers were Davida Bagatelle, Marylin Morgan, Arthur Niell, Jack Purdy, Bob Rooney, Ted Stefanik, George Watkins, and Laura Watkins

Respectfully submitted,

Janet A. Vellante Town Clerk